Twitter, Chirp Chirp, Tweet

Ok, tell me about Twitter.

When I first heard someone mention “Twitter”, I thought it meant “more of a twit”, like “Dumb and Dumber”- “Twit and Twitter”. Apparently, though, it’s a website where you’re supposed to update the peanut gallery on your every move several times a day. OK, I thought having a… um… an online journal-ish thing… was a sign of my over-inflated sense of self-importance. I have trouble believing that people actually read this stuff; who wants to read every thought that meanders through my poop-addled mind? Does anyone need to know that “I’m doing dishes” or “this yogurt tastes funny”?

And does this sound like a stalker’s dream to anyone else? Here’s a place where people are volunteering to share their location, actions and thoughts with you at any time- stalking without leaving the comfort of your own home! Oh, the wonders of modern technology!

I think this whole thing would be far more interesting if entries were done in haiku form.

Now that I’ve started asking, I’ll have to actually go have a look and see what this is about. Does anyone reading this use Twitter? Do you twit- er, tweet? Why or why not? Do you read other people’s chirpage?

3 Comments

  1. Carrie said,

    September 8, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    I’ve been hearing about it a long time and a couple of people on my LJ list have their twitters automatically sent to LJ. I think it is kind of silly. I don’t read them b/c I just don’t care that much. I like a story (both in my journals and in other’s journals) but twitter is not a narrative.

  2. September 10, 2008 at 9:34 am

    I haven’t really bought in to Twitter, although I find the concept amusing.

    I’d like to start “Twittering” out loud to nobody in particular in elevators and on public transportation- “Some people wear way too much perfume for Pipers”, “Today is a good day to die”, or “I wish I hadn’t eaten that samosa”.

  3. ashleigh said,

    September 17, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    i use twitter…it’s like group chat with my friends (whonknow each other) and it updates my facebook…and i have too much time on my hands…


Leave a Reply

