Sheesh!

OK, are we almost caught up now? It’s unbelievable what two weeks away from a computer does to a person’s writing schedule. Thank God for my “real” journal (yes, paper is still more real to me than this- I don’t trust that anything stored on this here interweb isn’t gonna just disappear. *poof!*).

Want to hear something eerie? I opened a fortune cookie last night (that’s not the eerie part- keep reading), and my fortune said, “A cheerful message is on its way to you.” Not 10 minutes later, AJ called. He and his troop had found out where they’d be going after graduation. Not exactly where, but the provinces, anyway. We’re going to… Nova Scotia! This is excellent news. OK, Newfoundland would’ve been a bit better, but since there weren’t any NL postings available, this was the best we could’ve done. Once AJ’s parents are in NL again, we’ll be about 1/2 way between his family and mine. And moving west would’ve been an adventure, for sure, but I love the east coast so much. Now we’ll wait to find out in a few weeks exactly where we’re going, and then we’ll have to figure out how to arrange housing and all of that fun stuff.

Today was Simon’s third birthday. Can you believe that? Three years old! Three years ago tonight they’d already taken him down to the NICU (as a “better safe than sorry” measure only), and I was alone in my hospital room, probably asking for another one of those magical shots in the arse that make the pain go away. I had good c-sections, but the first night was rough both times. I look at pictures of that day and I can hardly remember any of it… so why doesn’t it seem like 3 years have gone by? How can it seem like he’s growing too quickly, but I can’t remember what life was like before him?

To be honest, I’m scared of three. The lead-up hasn’t been promising: tantrums, random screaming, testing limits, rules and boundaries. Now, I should say in his defense that Simon on a bad day is still better behaved than some kids on a good day. Still, it’s a shock when I encounter this strange new person who seems to have taken over my baby’s ever-growing body. Help meeee!

We’re spreading the presents out. We met his GiGi (my wonderful mother-in-law) at the airport today as she was passing through on her way to NL to visit her parents, and she gave him a few things: a remote-control Mater (he was in heaven!) a little “Cars” toy, another dinky car, and a “Cars” outfit for the fall- too sweet. He also opened the cars (Cars) that AJ sent back with me, and the “Gordon” train we got him. Tomorrow’s the family supper for his birthday (mom had to do a funeral tonight- not good for parties), so he’ll get his presents from my parents, my brother & co., my grandparents and Isaac then. I may or may not have helped Isaac out on that one by selecting, purchasing, hiding and wrapping said gift… 6-months old aren’t good at that kind of thing, you know?

OK, I have to get to bed. Goodness knows someone will have me up at least a few times tonight. I’ve been trying to get him back into his own bed after he comes to bed with me at night, but he won’t have it- he starts wailing as soon as his back hits his crib mattress. He’s fine there at the beginning of the night, though… too weird. It’s flattering that he wants to cuddle me, but really, this needs to stop soon.

One final note: I apologize to anyone who’s noticed that my writing has been less gooder than it normal is of late. I barely have time to write, and editing is a luxury I just can’t afford right now. Also, thinking is often not something I have energy for, so… I’ll try harder soon, OK? Don’t leave me… DON’T LEAVE ME ALONE WITH THESE PEOPLE!!!

2 Comments

  1. Carrie said,

    September 6, 2008 at 10:11 am

    We won’t leave you! I never edit. I could probably be famous, if I’d just edit. Or maybe not.

    Three is not looking good. Erik has not been his normal happy self lately. He has been hitting and kicking (WTF????) and very defiant. What happened to my perfect little two year old?

  2. allisonwonder said,

    September 7, 2008 at 11:05 am

    That’s what I’m wondering… about Simon, not Erik. Nobody’s getting kicked yet, but the screaming is driving me muts, and I don’t know how to stop it. 😦

    We need a support group.


Leave a Reply

